Top Navigation

APOS Awards


APOS is Pleased to Recognize the 2019 Award Recipients!


Holland Distinguished Leadership Award

Annette Stanton, Ph.D.

Professor, Departments of Psychology & Psychiatry/Biobehavioral Sciences; Chair, Health Psychology
Member, UCLA Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center
Senior Research Scientist, Cousins Center for Psychoneuroimmunology

View Past Award Recipients Here!


Outstanding Clinical Care Award

Karen Fasciano, Psy.D.

Director of Young Adult Mental Health
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Read Bio…

View Past Award Recipients Here!


New Investigator Award

Betina Yanez, PhD

Assistant Professor
Department of Medical Social Sciences
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Read Bio…

View Past Award Recipients Here!


Outstanding Education and Training Award

Nancy Cincotta, LCSW, MSW, MPhil, ACSW

Psychosocial Director
Camp Sunshine

Read Bio…

View Past Award Recipients Here!


Awards Information
The Awards Committee of the APOS Board shall select recipients of APOS awards. If no suitable nominations are received, no awards will be given.

Past Award Recipients
  • Julia Rowland, PhD, 2018
  • Leslie R. Schover, PhD, 2016
  • Deane L. Wolcott, MD, 2017
  • David Spiegel, MD, 2014
  • Matthew Loscalzo, LCSW, FAPOS, 2015
  • William Redd, 2012
  • William Breitbart, MD, 2013
  • Paul Jacobsen, PhD, 2010
  • Ruth McCorkle, PhD, RN, FAAN, 2011
  • Betty R Ferrell, PhD, FAAN, 2008
  • Alan D Valentine, MD, 2009
  • Kathleen Foley, MD, 2006
  • James R Zabora, ScD, 2007
  • Fawzy Fawzy, MD, 2004
  •  Avery Weisman, MD, 2005
  • Jimmie C Holland, MD, 2003

Dr. Karen Fasciano is a clinical psychologist who has worked in Oncology for over 24 years.  She began her clinical career working in pediatric oncology and specifically addressing the educational needs of pediatric patients post-treatment.  She then transitioned to community work for many years as the Associate Program Director of the Boston Wellness Community.  Since 2007, Dr. Fasciano has worked in adult medical oncology with a special focus on young adult patients and is the Director of the Young Adult Program at the Dana-Farber /Brigham and Women’s Cancer Center.

Dr. Fasciano has created a body of innovative clinical interventions to improve emotional care for young adults coping with cancer including an interactive educational website, conversation aids, educational workshops/videos and the use of technology platforms to enhance clinical care.  Involving patients in the process of improving the quality of Psychosocial Care for young adults has been an important initiative for Dr. Fasciano. Most recently, she and her team have been working on a smart phone application to help cope with cancer.  Dr. Fasciano consults with other national and international cancer centers around the development of new clinical programs for young adults. In addition, Dr. Fasciano has contributed research publications on young adults coping with cancer.

She has co-chaired the International Psychosocial Oncology Society annual conference and been a member of the board of the American Psychosocial Oncology Society.  She is a senior psychologist at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute,  Associate Psychologist in the Department of Psychiatry at Brigham and Women’s Hospital, as well as,  Assistant Professor at Harvard Medical School.

Past Award Recipients

  • Wendy Pelletier, MSW, 2018
  • Kauser Ahmed,  PhD, 2017
  • Jennifer Mack, MD, MPH, 2016
  • Donna Greenburg, MD, 2015
  • Jon Levensen, MD, 2014
  • Anne Coscarelli, PhD, 2013
  • Lori Wiener, PhD, DCSW, 2012
  • Barbara Sourkes, PhD, 2011
  • Susan Ash-Lee, MSW, LCSW, 2010
  • Brandon Hayes-Lattin, MD, 2009
  • Karen Weihs, MD, 2008
  • Steven D Passik, PhD, 2007
  • Linda A Jacobs, PhD, RN, 2006
  • Irene Pollin, MSW, 2005

Dr. Yanez is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Medical Social Sciences and a member of the Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer Center at the Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine. Broadly, Dr. Yanez’s focus is in the area of cancer control and survivorship. Her work bridges behavioral medicine, health equity, and precision medicine to research improvements in the patient-centered and clinical outcomes of individuals diagnosed with cancer.

Her research program is characterized by work focused on three major public health problems facing cancer patients and survivors: (a) adherence to cancer treatments; (b) outcomes among racial/ethnic minority cancer survivors; and (c) reach and scalability of evidence-based interventions for oncology patients that can be delivered via technology platforms. An emerging area of her work involves patient-centered precision oncology. Her ongoing work in this area aims to develop a patient-centered intervention that is feasible, scalable and embedded within a healthcare delivery system for patients receiving individualized cancer treatment based on genomic profiling.

Past Award Recipients

  • Kelly Trevino, PhD, 2018
  • Jada G. Hamilton, PhD, MPH, 2017
  • Daniel McFarland, D.O., 2016
  • Allison Applebaum, PhD, 2015
  • John M. Salsman, PhD, 2014
  • Michael Hoyt PhD, 2013
  • Joseph Greer, 2012
  • Christian Nelson, 2011
  • Michelle C Fingeret PhD, 2010
  • Keith M Bellizzi PhD, MPH, 2009
  • Paula Sherwood PhD, RN, 2008
  • Carolyn S Rabin PhD, 2007
  • Peter C Trask PhD, MPH, 2006
  • Bradley Zebrack PhD, MSW, 2005
  • William Pirl MD, 2004

Coming Soon! In the meantime, take a look at her recent interview with Maine. The Magazine HERE

Past Award Recipients

  • Barbara L. Andersen, PhD, 2018
  • William Pirl, MD, MPH, FAPOS  and Jennifer Temel, MD, 2017
  • Carolyn Messner, DSW, MSW, OSW-C, BCD, LCSW-R, FAPOS, 2016 Patient Education
  • Karen Kayser, Phd, MSW, 2016 Provider Education
  • Gwendolyn Quinn, PhD, 2015
  • Shirley Otis-Green, MSW, LCSW, 2014
  • Brad Zebrack, PhD, MSW, MPH, 2014
  • and Barbara L. Jones, PhD, MSW, 2014
  • Donald L Rosenstein MD, 2013
  • Andrew Roth, 2012
  • Vanessa Malcarne, PhD, 2011
  • Matthew Loscalzo, MSW, 2010